Dark Humor

What is the best part about being depressed? 

You’re a useless piece of shit so you deserve it anyway..

That has to be one of my favour jokes… Yes it was a joke. It’s a tad dark, but yet is such a good description of what depression is like, within a joke. It’s also a depression joke you won’t truely get unless you have experienced it.

The joke is an example of “negative self talk”. I have never been good at dealing with negative self talk…. CBT tells you to question it, that doesn’t work for me… I just find too much evidence for the statement, too many beliefs within beliefs.. I guess. 

Today I realised how many people struggle with mental illness, I showed up to group and their was someone I knew… So weird. 

One thought on “Dark Humor

Leave a Reply

